There have been close to one million expressions of interest in the .xxx generic top-level domain name, it has been reported.
According to TheDomains.com, 900,000 individuals and companies have contacted the firm behind .xxx during its pre-reservation process.
Between them, the applicants expressed interest in more than 650,000 individual domain names using the .xxx extension.
The controversial top-level …
The United Arab Emirates has announced that it is delaying the commencement of the Landrush phase of the .EMARAT (.امارات) IDN.IDN launch that was previously scheduled to begin on July 14, 2011. The Landrush phase is now scheduled to commence on September. 1, 2011. As a result, CSC has re-opened Landrush ordering for this TLD.
Please …
Singer Katy Perry’s merchandising firm has filed a trademark infringement claim against bootleggers selling fake products at the pop star’s shows.
The Detroit News reports that Bravado International Group Merchandising Services filed the lawsuit in the U.S. District Court in Detroit seeking to block people from selling black-market shirts, buttons, posters, hats and visors.
No bootleggers are …
Could domain names be used to predict a recession? That is the question posed by a newly launched index that uses domain names to shed light on the economy in much the way stocks and shares do.
The domain name pricing index, or IDNX, the first of its kind, was created by economist Dr. Thies Lindenthal …
The organizer of a motorcycle rally in South Dakota is suing a gift shop for trademark infringement, it has been reported.
Sturgis Motorcycle Rally has accused Rushmore Photo & Gifts, based in Rapid City, of profiting from the event by selling clothing printed with the word “Sturgis,” reports the Associated Press.
The rally has claimed that it …
Leisure Canada Inc. has announced the acquisition of the visitcuba.com domain name, along with its website and related assets.
The firm has paid $100,000 in cash and awarded 84,746 Class A common company shares to the previous owners.
The visitcuba.com domain name will provide Leisure Canada with an online platform from which it can provide information and …
A university has become embroiled in a trademark dispute with a real estate broker, it has been reported.
Virginia Tech sued Blacksburg-based Hokie Real Estate last October, arguing that the firm was infringing on its ‘Hokie’ trademark, reports Roanoke.com.
According to the U.S. trademark database, the institute has owned rights to the term since 1998.
However, in March …